Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Didsbury Old Bedians RUFC app


New Chair appointed for Old Bedians Rugby Club.

By Tom Fuller

Meet the 2018/19 Club Officers

Club stalwart, Jim Bloor has been appointed the new Chairman of Old Bedians RUFC. Jim joined the club in 1998 playing his first game under legendary 2nd XV skipper Leigh Prescott. He went on to captain the 1st XV for 18 months and the referee's favourite scrum-half is still playing some twenty years on.

Jim has played several roles on the committee over the years and his appointment as Chairman is proud moment for him, he explained "It is a great honour being made Chair of the best rugby club in Manchester. My vision as chair is a simple one; for its members to get the most out of their club. This will happen by providing the best environment and facilities we can as a club, to play great rugby, have fun and provide a social network for all our members."
Jim takes over from Steve Cook who after six years at the helm moves to Fundraising Secretary. The whole rugby club wish to thank Steve for his effort and work over the years that have left the club in a much stronger position both on and off the field.

The meeting also appointed a new treasurer in Tim Hughes who takes over from Ryan Keyes who has become the treasurer for Old Bedians sports club. The club's finances have been left in a strong position following Mr Keyes' stewardship over the last three years and the club thanks Ryan for his work.

A raft of new appointments were made at the Old Bedians rugby section Annual General Meeting which took place on the 15th May 2018. A well attended meeting resulted in the election of the following committee for next season.

Committee positions for 2018/19 are as follows
Chair - Jim Bloor
Vice Chair - Declan Sealy
Treasurer - Tim Hughes
Club Secretary - Tom Fuller
Director of Rugby - Michael Gallagher
PR Co-ordinator - James Hennigan
Kremlin Representatives - Tom Ash, Jonathan Gander, Chris Pratt
Development Secretary - Robert Naughton
Funding Secretary - Steve Cook
Club Captain - Ben Rogerson
Communications Secretary - Paul Makinen
Membership Secretary - Tom Fuller
Social Secretary - Jordi Gore
Fixtures & Referees Secretary - Leigh Prescott
Student Liason Secretary - Lloyd Cawthorne
International Tickets - Jonathan Swift

Where next?

Pre-season starts at Old Bedians Pre-season training starts this Saturday 26th May
Old Bedians announce Captains for 2018/19 season Ben Rogerson announced as Club Captain with Ben Steers taking over as 3rd XV skipper


Loading comments

Win a Maximuscle training session with Anthony Watson

Sat 27 Apr
League 0 – 49
Sat 13 Apr
1st XV Ruskin Park
League P – P
2nd XV Capenhurst
League 24 – 0


Club sponsors