News & EventsLatest NewsCalendar
Old Bedians 70th Anniversary

Old Bedians 70th Anniversary

Daniel Walder14 Jun - 11:31
Share via

Bedians celebrate 70th Anniversary with Special End of Season Do!

Old Bedians celebrated the clubs 70th year with a special anniversary dinner at the
Piccadilly Hotel in Manchester on 18th May which also served as the clubs end of
season awards do. It was a fantastic night with Bedians from all generations
attending the celebrations to enjoy food and drinks, fun speeches, dancing and
games. Huge thanks to the organizing team for the efforts they put in to make it a
night to remember.

The end of season awards for the senior section were presented on the night, well
done to all the winners. The awards went to the following people:

1st XV
The two awards for player of the season (as voted for by the players and named
after previous winner Lloyd) and captains choice (as chosen by the captain) for the
1st XV went to the following;
1st XV Lloyd Cawthorne Player of Season (Players vote) - Danny Walder
1st XV Captains choice - Josh Hudson

2nd XV
The two awards for the 2nd XV went to the following;
2nd XV Player of Season (Players vote) - Cameron Hesk
2nd XV Captains choice - James Kington

Colt Award
This year to celebrate the wonderful success of the players progressing up through
the junior section into the senior teams we had a Colt of the Year award voted for by
the captains. It shows the strength of the players coming through (especially with
Cam picking up the 2nd XV POS award) and the great work the junior section are all
Colt of the year - Malachy Logue

Clubman Awards
To acknowledge the work and effort put in to help the running of the club the
following awards were given for the Clubman of the Year for all-round effort across
the season (named in memory of ex-president and lifelong Clubman Barrie), and
Spirit of Bedes award for going above and beyond when asked to help and just
getting what it is to be a Bede;
Barrie Carroll Clubman of the Year - Jon Gander
Spirit of Bedes - Archie Biltcliffe

Very well done to all the award winners, and thanks again for organising a great

Here’s to another 70 years!

Further reading